Skip to main content

Honorary Service Awards

2021-2022 DVHS PTSA Honorary Service Awards

Honorary Service Awards

Every year, PTA’s across the nation recognize teachers, staff, students, community members, local companies, and others that make a profound impact in our children's lives by presenting the Honorary Service Awards as a gesture of thank you.

All proceeds from the Honorary Services Award's purchases are used to fund the California State PTA Scholarship and Grant Program. This program provides scholarships for volunteers and educators to continue their education; Scholarships for High School Seniors to continue their education; plus grants to local PTAs to advance goals in areas related to outreach in translation, cultural arts, parent education, and healthy lifestyle. 

This program offers six distinctive types of awards:

Very Special Person Award (VSP) – This award recognizes an individual or organization for their service to PTA. 

Honorary Service Award (HSA) – This award is given to recognize an individual or organization for outstanding service to children and youth in your community, going above and beyond what is asked of them.

Continuing Service Award (CSA) – This award is given to recognize an individual or organization for ongoing or long-time service to children and youth, providing support year after year. 

Outstanding Teacher Award (OTA) – This award may be given to recognize a teacher for outstanding service to children and youth through PTA, school, or community.

Outstanding Administrator Award (OAA) – This award may be given to recognize an administrator for exceptional service to children and youth through PTA, school, or the community.

Golden Oak Service Award (GOSA) – This award is given to recognize, as the most prestigious of the Honorary Service Awards, an individual or organization that has made significant contributions to the welfare of children and youth in a school or community.


These awards are a way for the PTSA to publicly acknowledge both individuals and organizations for outstanding community service to the children and youth in our community.

Many have made significant contributions to the well-being and experience of our students, our school, and the community as a whole. We thank all of them for their contributions, and we have recognized only a handful as the representatives of all of them. This year has been especially challenging, but our school, teachers, staff, volunteers, and supporters have risen to the occasion and worked together to do so much to improve the experience of our students and community.

Our recipients include administrators, teachers, students, parent volunteers, PTSA members, athletic boosters volunteers and music booster volunteers, and local businesses that have supported our students in some manner. Thank you to those that took the time to recognize these individuals and organizations by nominating them for an Honorary Service Award.

The funds used to acknowledge our participants through the official purchase of official CAPTA certificates and pins go exclusively to support the California State PTA scholarship and grant programs.

Very Special Person Award (VSP)

  • Azine Davoudzadeh
  • Cierra Brown
  • Joe Ianora
  • Johann Somerville
  • Mette Spears
  • Campus Life Committee
  • Community Outreach
  • Clementine's Restaurant
  • Dos Coyotes Border Cafe Restaurant
  • Streamline Graphics

Honorary Service Award (HSA)

  • Amy Kelly
  • Amritha Ramesh
  • Charlene Migrditchian
  • Claire Kahrobaie 
  • Devi Seetharaman
  • Rachel Ratcliff
  • Sara O'Gara
  • Sunny Borromeo

Continuing Service Award (CSA)

  • Heidi Ellicott-Pesic
  • Smitha Swamy
  • Tessie Gonsalves

Outstanding Teacher Award (OTA): Megan Manley, Rachel Decker

Outstanding Administrator Award (OAA): Evan Powell

The nomination form will be available starting in August 2021 for next year's recognition on the PTSA website. For questions, contact us at